2 years, 3 months: Full of Laughs

I love this age. So many fun things. When Brian and I drop and pick him up from school, we laugh at the little conversations he is having with his friends. He says the most hilarious things. There are too many examples of the funny things he is saying lately to recall them all.

One of my favorites: While eating dinner, Preston randomly said “I don’t like spiders, but I like snakes.” We talked about why and how they hiss. An hour later when Brian got home, I asked him “Preston, do you like snakes?” He looked at me like I was crazy and said, “No mama. I don’t ‘wike’ snakes AT ALL.”

Another favorite: Brian spilled some water in Preston’s room accidentally. Preston said “Daddy, you make a mess in my classroom!!”, while pointing to the spill. haha! Clearly he has heard that a few times at school. 🙂

One more: We were saying prayers the other night. We always say the same prayer as a family, then say “God bless…” and let Preston list all the people he loves and wants to pray for (all the grandparents, aunts, uncles, friends, baby brother/sister, etc.) The other night he said “God bless Woody, Buzz, Rexy (his dino), my toys, elephants, and school.”

He is starting to play with his toys in the same way my brothers did when they were little. He is taking his toys and making them fly through the air yelling “blast off!” and often makes them crash or fight each other. It just goes to show that boys are just born BOYS. The sweet moments where he wants to sit in my lap and read a book are slowing down. That used to be nightly for us. He sleeps with literally 5 plastic toys

I’m amazed because we have a great little playset complete with a slide, 3 swings and a see saw in our backyard (a great hand-me-down from my cousins!). I would have never thought at this age, he could climb the 90 degree ladder and fly down the big slide ALL BY HIMSELF. We don’t even have to help him!

He runs everywhere, all the time. He never just walks normally. Brian and I laugh because he just goes at 100% and then at nap or bedtime crashes. Brian put it perfectly the other night when he said “It’s like all Preston has is an ON / OFF switch. There is no dimmer at all.” So true! Last night we were walking the neighborhood. We watched Preston run and run all around the block and up hills in neighbors yards. He was covered in sweat and even smelled like a teenage boy after soccer practice! He ran into our neighbors yard and when he saw our neighbor, he said “Hi Mr. Brian, how you doin?” Our neighbor/friend laughed and said “Good, thanks Preston.” He then ran to their front door and attempted to open it and try to run inside. Crazy kid!

He has started to really stall at bedtime. We have always been so consistent on our bedtime routine and have always been proud of how well he goes down at night without a fuss. However, this stalling situation is downright funny. He will say he needs more water, or one more book, or to check on his trains, or say extra prayers, or sing extra songs, the list goes on and on. The best is “lay with me mommy” and he wants me, my belly and for a while my huge boot (that was protecting the broken foot) to lay in his TODDLER BED with him. We totally give in 90% of the time, because seriously, he is so cute about it. Just call us softies 🙂

He had the sweetest Mother’s Day program at preschool this week. The little school sang 3 songs in the church and the preacher talked to us for a minute about how we may not feel like perfect moms, but when he asked the children “Who has a perfect mom?” All their hands shot up. It was very sweet. We walked from the church to the preschool and had a little reception in his class. He gave me the sweetest handprint art, a button with his picture, and flowers. He was so proud to have me at school, and when it was time for me to leave and go to work he pitched a huge fit. His fits are funny, and I have to force myself not to laugh/smile because they are just SO dramatic.

Love that boy so much. Skinned knees, sweat, dirty clothes, tantrums and all!

On the ride to school, when Mommy had to stop for gas. This is his "cheese!" face for pictures.

On the ride to school, when Mommy had to stop for gas. This is his “cheese!” face for pictures.

One last pic before Mommy heads to work.

One last pic before Mommy heads to work.

Preston is super into selfies lately, so we had to take one in his classroom.

Preston is super into selfies lately, so we had to take one in his classroom.

Proud of the placemat he made for me. This makes me laugh because he actually does call me Cami from time to time. hehe

Proud of the placemat he made for me. This makes me laugh because he actually does call me Cami from time to time. hehe

His cute little class walking from the church back to the preschool.

His cute little class walking from the church back to the preschool.

Leave a Reply

