Old Wives Tales & 36 Week Update

I’m starting to get pretty curious about the gender of baby #2. While there’s something very spiritual and freeing about not knowing the gender – I guess that’s what relinquishing control feels like 🙂 – I still think it’s fun to look at the old wives tales around the baby’s gender. We’ll know in just a few short weeks!

Heart Rate
If the baby’s heart rate is above 140 bpm, it is said that the baby will be a girl. If it is under 140 bpm, then it will be a boy. Heart rate has been all over the place – from 170s to 130s depending on the appt. It mostly hovers in the 140s. Verdict: Inconclusive.

Shape of Belly
If you are carrying high with a big, round belly, you are having a girl. If you are carrying low with a smaller belly that sticks straight out, it’s a boy. Verdict: Boy.

Acne
If you have acne while pregnant, it’s a girl. It’s thought that acne during pregnancy is caused by the extra hormones. Thankfully, no acne. Verdict: Boy

Cravings
People believe that if you are craving salty foods while pregnant, you can count on having a boy. If you crave sweets, fruit, and orange juice, you are having a little girl. This pregnancy, I’ve actually craved pretty healthy foods like green veggies, yogurt and light meals. Lately, I’ve had some MAJOR chocolate cravings. 🙂 Verdict: Girl

Legs
If your legs get really big, you’re having a boy. If your legs stay in shape and lean, it’s a girl. Funny – my legs got huge with Preston from swelling and this time that hasn’t happened! Verdict: Girl

Chinese Gender Chart
The Chinese Gender Chart claims to have an accuracy rate of over 90%. It is based on how old the mother is at conception and the month that she conceived. Verdict: Girl

Side You Most Rest On
If a pregnant woman prefers to lay on her left side, she’s having a boy. If she prefers resting on her right side, she’s having a girl. Every night I sleep almost all night on my right side! Verdict: Girl

Dad’s Weight Gain
If the dad-to-be gains weight while you are pregnant, it’s a girl. If he doesn’t gain weight, you’re having a boy. Verdict: Boy

What Do You Think?
71% of the time, the mom-to-be knows what she is having. Verdict: Boy

Morning Sickness
If you had a smooth pregnancy with no morning sickness, it’s a boy. If you were sick or felt really nauseous during your pregnancy, count on a girl. I had no sickness with Preston, this time around, A LOT of sickness – long past the end of the first trimester. Some nights I still have to take Zofran, though it’s rare. Verdict: Girl

Protein
When a pregnant woman craves meat and cheese, count on a boy. Verdict: Girl

TOTAL GIRL: 6
TOTAL BOY: 4
TOTAL INCONCLUSIVE: 1

For a little pregnancy update, I am feeling GREAT. I have energy, want to get out and walk and do things, and feel really good. Minimal swelling, 25 lb weight gain, and feeling ready. MAJOR difference from my last month of pregnancy with Preston. I find myself laughing a little at the girl that was pregnant with Preston – mainly because if she could see where we are now, she would have an anxiety attack! We don’t know the gender, the nursery is like half way done, we have a few gender neutral onesies, swaddles, and blankets and I actually purchased a new nipple shield because this time around I know what one is AND that I need it. HA! I love the relaxed feeling I have with this pregnancy. I can already tell I am going to enjoy this much more than I did the first time around – (at least I’ll try to remind myself of that come December when I’m exhausted, running all over town for various holiday presents and family get-togethers, and starting back work.)

I have an ultrasound next week where we’ll check the size and exact positioning of the baby, and talk through c-section/surgery prep. I’ve heard the second c-section is much better than the first and the recovery is faster. I hope this is true, although my recovery from the first wasn’t all that bad.

Here I am at 36 weeks and a couple days. Just a little while longer!

photo-110

photo-109

Leave a Reply

