We’re having a baby in 4 days.

It is still very surreal, the fact that we are adding to our family. In many ways, this pregnancy has flown by and in others, it has dragged on. I tried to savor as much of it as possible thinking that this might be the last time I’m ever pregnant, but in truth, I’m just not one of those people that loves pregnancy. Pregnancy (and after birth) fully takes over your body and mind and in my experience, can altar who you are normally – physically and mentally. I am really looking forward to being ME again in a few months. 🙂

This Friday morning at 8:30, we check into the hospital and a couple hours later we’ll have a baby. I’m nervous about having surgery again and recovering from the surgery with a newborn and 2-year-old. I’m a little afraid of the pain. Will breastfeeding be better this time around? I’m nervous about the baby’s well being after delivery. But my thoughts and fears are mainly with Preston.

Even though lots of people have told me I need to do, I am not excited about the prospect of shipping Preston off after delivery. Every time he spends the night away, he has a really hard time adjusting to being back with us. Like, it takes DAYS. So, while we might get a night off, we really pay for it when he comes home. As his mother, I know what works for him – routine, consistency, and knowing what to expect. These things are really important to him and what makes him happy. With a sibling coming, I am really preparing myself for him to have a tough time. It’s just who he is. All Brian and I can do as parents is to offer him lots of love, patience and CHOICES so that he feels in control and being heard. Being two and a half is hard enough, but having to share mom and dad is a whole new thing for him. I know he’ll eventually adjust and won’t remember life without his sibling.

I can’t believe we’ve been given this gift again. Brian and I had a little talk this weekend about our life. How much it’s changed and how we wouldn’t want it any other way. How far we have come as a partnership and really learned to work as one. We talked about how once you give into the craziness that marriage, children, jobs, and adult responsibilities can throw your way and just keep the perspective of gratitude and thankfulness, life is really great.

We can’t wait to meet you #2!

One thought on “We’re having a baby in 4 days.

  1. Will and Luke are 2 years and 9 months apart. I had the same fears as you. My first C-section was unplanned so I was so nervous about having a repeat, then worrying about the recovery with a 2 year old and newborn. I promise you, this time around the recovery will be much easier and you will be more at ease with it being your second. Enjoy every moment! These memories pass so quickly and soon you will forget what you were even worried about! 🙂 Congrats to your sweet family!

Leave a Reply

