Mother’s Day 2014

I had a lovely Mother’s Day this year and was so thankful. Mother’s Day always makes me a little teary. Our kids are my greatest gift, my greatest joy, and make my life complete. They will never fully realize the depth of my love for them, but I work my hardest to try to show it. I often lose patience in “having to be everyone’s brain” but I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Wednesday was Preston’s mother’s day program at school. His preschool does a sweet little chapel, where the preacher comes and says a few words to us and then the kids sing us songs and all yell Happy Mother’s Day! They walk back to their classrooms, and we follow them in. This year, Preston’s teachers had worked hard to give us a sweet little breakfast, complete with flowers for each of the moms, sweet homemade goodies (a pasta necklace and his picture in a paper flower). We ate together, and Preston was so excited about having me there. He was so sweet the whole time I was there. After our snack, we all sat down on the circle mat and his teacher read two books to us – Are you My Mother? (teachers pick) and Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons (kids pick) – and we laughed and laughed at how the kids knew all the words. I hated to kiss him goodbye to head into work, but he sweetly gave me a hug and said he would see me later.

Turned around to wave at me during chapel!

photo 2

photo 3

The bees and ladybugs are his fingerprints.

 

Friday, Margo’s teachers gave me a cute piece of artwork they had her do. Her footprints make a heart. So very sweet! It’s already hanging up at work.  Side note – her teacher always writes Field on everything and I don’t have the heart to correct her! I truly love them a lot.

photo (4)

Mother’s Day came, and Brian and the kids surprised me with a FitBit. I’ve picked up running again and hope to run in a few races this summer. My first is next week. I’ve gotten myself up to a 5K under 30 minutes and that is a start! Hoping to increase my speed and distance and MAYBE do a half marathon in October. Not making any promises though! They also gave me a sweet card with their handprints in it.

We got up and went to church, then afterward went by the Fields and took my mother-in-law her gift and hung out with them for a little while. Then headed home for a quick lunch and nap for the kids. I cleaned and did laundry while Brian started the smoker for our dinner. He cooked an awesome dinner with shrimp and tri-tip, and I did balsamic green beans and rice. My mom and brothers came over (my dad is in PA visiting his family for his sister’s retirement party), so we had a low key, casual meal and enjoyed each other’s company. My mom also surprised me with a sweet gift – although she did not need to do that! 😉

 

photo 4

 

It was a great day, and I am so thankful for my mom and mother-in-law, and of course Brian, Preston and Margo. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

