Thanksgiving Weekend

The Thanksgiving holiday was nice this year. On Wednesday, both the kids’ schools were closed, so I took the day off and stayed home with them. I rarely do that, since I save my days for days when the kids are sick, so it was nice to have both of them home with me and they were both well. 🙂 We played all the morning in the play room and Brian came home around lunch for the day. It was so nice just being home with the four of us.

photo 1 (10)

When the kids went down for their nap, I decided to run 10 miles. I headed to my usual running destination – from my house, down the bike lane on Shady Grove to the Wolf River Greenway. The weather is cold, but with the falling leaves and woods, it felt more like a trail run. Just beautiful. I ran all the way to Germantown Pkwy and back.

photo 2 (8)

I took the time running to talk to God and think about all the things I am thankful for. It started to rain a little bit at the end of the run, but what a great run it was! 10 miles in an hour and half, around a 9:15 minute-mile. I’m running another half marathon this week and Marley and I signed up for a winter off-road trail race series in Jan-Feb around Memphis. That consists of 4 races, so I’ve gotta stay in shape! When I got back to the house, one kid had just woken up and the other was still sleeping, so I was pretty happy I didn’t miss time with them that day.

Thursday morning, Thanksgiving, we played at home and slowly got ready for the day. We headed over to Brian’s family’s Thanksgiving meal. The food was delicious and the company was great! What a nice Thanksgiving it was. 🙂 Most of his family and extended family were there, so it was good catching up with everyone. Before we ate, we all went around and said what we are thankful for. When it was Preston’s turn, he smiled sweetly and said “I’m thankful for my mommy.” Of course, I lost it and cried. It was just so sweet!

IMG_7292

IMG_7276

IMG_7311

IMG_7306

Oh my! He looks so big here!

 

IMG_7302

Kisses for sweet Ms. Liz!

 

IMG_7297

IMG_7293

We headed to my parents house after that for dessert. My brothers, my sister-in-law and my sister-in-law’s mom were all there. Nice to catch up with them! Margo ate pumpkin pie and cake and was in pure heaven!

Friday morning after lunch, we headed to Alabama to visit my grandparents. They have been experiencing some health issues lately, so we wanted to go hug them and spend some time with them. It was so great so see them, albeit it brief. We stayed one night in a nearby hotel, because we didn’t want to disrupt them too much. Kids can do that! We loved catching up with them, having some good meals with them, and taking some pictures of them with the kids. After we left their house, we ventured into the little downtown area and had some lunch and walked to Spring Park to see the ducks and geese before heading back to Memphis.

IMG_7383

One precious thing Margo had started doing that I want to document: We say “Margo, where’s the baby?” And she points to her tummy. So adorable! She is also learning her body parts too, and can point to her head, nose, mouth, tummy and ears. She just turned 14 months old and is getting more and more precious every day. 🙂

 

IMG_7379

IMG_7369

IMG_7359

IMG_7350

Preston and Margo with their great grandparents, Nannie and Gramps. I will always treasure this picture!

 

Saturday night, my parents rented a carriage at Starry Nights at Shelby Farms. The weather was perfect and we had so much fun. Margo loved the ride, and Preston was really into all the lights. It was a lot of fun! Mark, Melissa and her mom joined us. It was nice to a bit more time with them!

IMG_7394

IMG_7393

IMG_7400

We had a music themed carriage too – it’s like they knew our family! Haha! We missed Joe and Danielle, but they were enjoying the Egg Bowl.

 

Sunday, we attended the baptism of our friends’ little girl at St. Peter’s downtown. We took the kids to Mass before hand, and after the baptism headed back to their house for a nice reception. I love going to baptisms. Such a sweet sacrament! We realized Preston and Margo skipped naps or in Margo’s case, napped on the go, Thursday – Sunday. A couple of nights they were falling apart before bedtime, but actually handled it pretty well!

Such a nice weekend spent with family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

