Love Month

I can’t believe February is almost over. It’s been a crazy month with all the bad weather, school closures, my work travel and keeping our sanity. But, with the help of family, we made it through and warmer weather is ahead. Here’s a summary of what’s been going on with us!

Brian’s Birthday

Brian turned 32 a couple weeks ago. We celebrated with a combined birthday/Valentine’s dinner at Ruth’s Chris. We had been holding onto a gift card for a long time, so we used it and had a very nice dinner. It was a great night out! We had not been on a date in a couple months, so we enjoyed the alone time. Birthdays are much more low key the older you get!

Apparently on your birthday, they take a picture of you and give you a copy like Benihana's. Seems a little odd for Ruth's Chris but we put it on our frig between all the kids artwork!

Apparently on your birthday, they take a picture of you and give you a copy like Benihana’s. Seems a little odd for Ruth’s Chris but we put it on our frig between all the kids artwork!

Valentine’s Day

For Valentine’s Day, both the kids had parties at school. Brian and I both went to Preston’s school party, but parents are not allowed at Margo’s school. For their ages, it is a bit traumatic for the kids to see their parents and not go home with them, so they have the parties for just the teachers and kids. Both of them brought home all kinds of adorable artwork for us and cute homemade Valentine’s from their friends. I always love Valentine’s Day with kids!

IMG_7809

Some of the kids in P’s class at centers doing art and having snack.

Valentine’s Day night, I scored my company’s suite tickets to the Monster Truck show at FedExForum. We left Margo with her grandparents to spend the night, and we had a great time with P. He was pretty into it. It was VERY loud and there was A LOT of exhaust. Thankfully, we were able to borrow some headwear to protect his ears. They worked well! In a crazy turn of events, half way through the show, Preston looked at me and said “I’m going to throw up.” AAHHH! He made it to the trash can in the suite, and then after he puked he was fine! We think it was a combination of all the junk food (there was a lot!!) in the suite combined with all the exhaust from the giant trucks.  Crazy child! He has been known to have one-off pukes throughout his life, so it wasn’t a huge surprise. P thought he was big stuff in the suite!

photo 1 (13)

photo 2 (14)

photo 3 (9)

Work Trips

I had to do a bit of traveling over January and February for work. In total, I went to Orlando, St. Louis, Pittsburgh and Dallas. I still have one last trip next week to Tallahassee, then I’m done for a while. Or at least, I declared to my coworkers and boss I am done for a while! 🙂 I did get through a book while waiting for flights – Where’d You Go, Bernadette – and it was pretty good. I don’t take many pictures when I travel for work, unless I eat some great meal or have a cool experience, which unfortunately RARELY happens. 🙂 And also, I find that I work MORE when I travel than when I don’t travel. However, I did get excited because I flew to Pittsburgh in the Steelers-branded plane!

photo 1 (14)

Memphis Ice Storm

The following week after Valentine’s, the ice hit. The kids only went to school one day that whole week! Unfortunately, I traveled to Dallas for work Tuesday through Thursday, so Brian had to make arrangements for the kids so that he could get to work. Thankfully, my in-laws live close to our house, so the drive was doable. We are so appreciative of the help! Preston played with the neighbors on Monday, and since it was President’s Day anyway, Brian’s office was closed regardless and my office decided to close that morning. The ice was pretty thick, so it made sledding possible. He went down the hill on our street a few times. I stayed warm with Margo inside, but Brian said he flew! It was a little scary. He is so fearless when it comes to stuff like that! Our neighbors took some pictures and sent them to me and I hopped outside for a few pics. Margo was NOT having the cold weather!

photo 5 (2)

Pushing our neighbors David and Connor down the hill!

photo 4 (6)

Loved every minute!

IMG_7820

Margo was looking at us like, “Um, what are we doing out here? Give me HEAT!”

IMG_7822

School was only open one day all week! I did get to stay home a couple days in between my work trip to Dallas. I loved the extra time with these two, but they were SO stir crazy! They both really love school, so they were so happy to get to go back this week.

photo 2 (15)

Sweet boy enjoying some of his Valentine’s candy from a friend.

photo 3 (10)

Mimzie sprung for Uggs for Margo. You have to admit, they are SO cute on her!

IMG_7859

Brian gave Margo her first ring pop. She was in heaven!

IMG_7867

This boy! He can write his name well now and is spelling more and more words. So proud of him!

IMG_7855

This child has us wrapped around her finger! Seriously, she is SO sweet and perfect all the time, we can’t say no to her. We are in MAJOR trouble. She was saying “cheese!!!” for the camera. She is saying all kinds of words these days and growing up way too fast. A living doll that sweet sister is!

Winter Off-Road Series

Marley and I finished the winter off road series. It was totally crazy. Every race was wet, cold, muddy, and overall pretty miserable (except the 8K – which was completely in the woods and I was totally confused as to where I was, how far I had run, etc). I am glad to be finished!

Capture

I finished 4th overall in my age group. I just missed a pretty medal made by the Ornamental Medal Museum! Bummer! When I see these times, I think “goodness – how slow” because I can run these races faster on roads. Trails, however, are a completely different beast! When your feet are caked in mud and you can’t feel your fingers and you’ve just run through a creek and your wet from mid-calf down, running miles proves challenging! I have no idea how I did that so swiftly in high school! As Marley pointed out, I guess being 16 helps. 🙂

Capture

The 10K race at Shelby Farms

The 8K at Nesbit Park / Stanky Creek

The 8K at Nesbit Park / Stanky Creek

Up next, Marley and I are headed to Lynchburg, TN Easter weekend to run the Oak Barrel Half Marathon in April and take on the notorious Whiskey Hill. I’ve heard it’s no joke and am a little afraid, but the race sounds like fun!

Whew! What an update! We are ready for warmer weather around here and hope it comes soon!

Leave a Reply

